Happiness is…

I just couldn’t keep away from all you lovely people anymore.I do apologize for it taking this long.I have had some internet hassles and struggled for a week to get onto the blog. ( this all being my own fault of course…technology not always being my best friend and all) I finally got it to work .. but for how long i couldn’t guess.Therefore my post wont be a very long one tonight , more of an appetizer for the next post ( which I promise to get to as soon as possible).

I’ve thought a lot about happiness in the past week which naturally lead me to think about emotions.More partically about how each person choses to show emotion.Some people bottle it inside of themselves, other show it openly. Everyone has a way of dealing with it. For instance… i am a very open and honest person and therefore naturally show my emotion openly. In essence I wear my heart on my sleeve.( this is not always the best way to go about things but nonetheless this is me.) I choose to express my emotion with my art. This doesn’t necessarily only mean painting and drawing.I often show my emotion by the clothes i wear as well as the colours that go along with it.I believe that clothing is a form of art… even if it is just a very loose form of art. ( especially if you have seen me with lime green stockings and a pink shirt… note that i USED to dress like that). That is another topic ALL together. I  find that when people see you as artistic they automatically assume you express your emotion through your art.

Mostly this perception is true but I don’t think you can put anyone , let alone an artist in a small box to generalise them. Back in the day of Renaissance art , art didn’t have much to do with emotion at all.It was all about beauty ( their boxed in idea of beauty ) and perfection ( generally speaking ). It was only in the later years that artists started exploring the idea of art and emotion, and even then they weren’t seen as artists.We see art in a different way and as a result we ( being the modern people ) ” made” those various artists famous. Just very quickly, take Van Gogh as an example. He only sold one painting when he was alive .His art was frowned upon because they couldn’t squeeze it into a box.

 

Anyway, before i go too far off topic , the point i want to make is that artists only recently ( lets say the last 120 years ) have connected art to emotion and visa versa. As i mentioned before my favourite artist is Renoir. He would be classified in the Impressionist  group. They were a fascinating group and often confused with the Expressionist group. I don’t believe that this ” genre ” of painting should be classified into only one era, hence i say ” group “. Just a personal opinion of mine.

 

Without getting into too much detail the Expressionist wanted , quite simply , to express their opinion and emotion connected to a specific topic or situation. Next time

I will discuss the difference between Impressionists and Expressionist

 

Cheers for now

Simone

see if you can figure out ( without cheating ) which " group " the different paintings belong to..

 

 

About renarts

im an artist by nature.I enjoy things that arent traditional.im happy and positive 99% of the time. I tend to see the up side to things.. the glass is half full type.

Posted on June 27, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

A MESSENGER'S INQUISITION

a vocal, somewhat philosophical, often controversial, alternative take on life, love and religion

Mahani Del Borrello

photography | illustration | art

Effervesce.

When life knocks you down, calmly get back up, smile, and say. "You hit like a bitch."

